Woodlands Pre-School


A Unique Child

Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships

Children learn to be strong and
independent through positive relationships.

Enabling Environment

Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and carers.

Learning and Development

Children develop and learn in different ways. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.


Seven Areas of Learning and Development

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social & Emotional
  • Making relationships.
  • Self-confidence and self-awareness.
  • Managing feelings and behaviour.

Physical Development

  • Moving and handling
  • Health and self-care

Communication and Language

  • Listening and attention
  • Understanding
  • Speaking

Specific Areas


  • Reading
  • Writing


  • Numbers
  • Shape,space and measure

Understanding the World

  • People and communities
  • The world
  • Technology

Expressive Arts and Design

  • Exploring and using media and materials
  • Being imaginative

More information on the Revised Early Years Foundation Stage. Early years Inspection framework Sept 2019


The following link is to help you as a parent find out more about how your child is learning and developing during their first five years, in relation to the EYFS. Children develop more rapidly during the first five years of their lives than at any other time. This booklet has been written to help you as a parent know what to expect during these vitally important years by focusing on the seven areas of learning and development which are covered in the EYFS. 




Woodlands application form

Please note we only accept application form completed in full detail.